2 comments on “Merenptah open-air Museum

  1. I have never been to Egypt this late, the April heat would be too much for me. I nearly forgot about the museum – they did not allow us to take any pictures in there, that might be why. The store rooms were very exciting and we did take some photos around there. The sphinxes were very unusual.
    Your blog is so well written!

  2. Hi Lenka

    Many thanks for your comment. This is an easy site to forget because there are few remaining structures – but well worth a visit to see those wonderful Amenhotep III reliefs. I was lucky to go when it first opened and the guards allowed one or two pictures inside the museum, though last time I went photos were not permitted inside.
    Yes, end of April was getting a bit hot even for me – though I did have a week in July once. The heat does stop you doing quite so much as it’s very draining in the middle of the day.

    Best regards
    Su

Leave a Reply

