21 comments on “Omm Sety

  1. hi su, after returning from eygpt last week i wanted to follow up the story of dorothy eady a name given to me by our tour guide when going to luxor. how her name came tobe given to me is because i told the tour guide of my 4 yr old son who was with us.my son is called saleem and although only 4 is used to travelling abroad,when he visits another country he always calls it by its name, ie tunisia is tunisia, but when i showed him the brouchure and said we were going to eygpt he immediatly said it was saleemland and still insists on it.he has been given no knowledge of eygpt and yet says he was from giza (said whilst still in england)and when asked was it full of sand ,he said no its rocks and stones-something the tour guide confirmed as he is from giza, he has talked of other things, like being carved in stone by his workers and when shown many pictures of different pharohs, he always goes for tutamkhamun and says he knows him, whilst waiting to depart from gatwick a couple heard us talking and said what will he do in eygpt, the answer as we touched down in hurghada he kept shouting im home im home many times, this same couple heard him and said he must have a gift.he has never done this before and was not prompted. at the temple of karnak he refused to enter and after much coaxing was carrried in but said he didnt like it, its not because he is young and it was boring for him , he loved carthage in tunisia,but at the valley of the queens again ran round saying he was home.the tour guide said their was 1 pharoh, arkanethon who changed cities and religions and did not go to karnak, who also had stomach problem and is shown with a pot belly.saleem was born with hirshsprungs disease and is a bowel condition which often lets gas build up in the stomach and he becomes very distended, a co incidence possibly but still he asks us to go again, so we are thinking about this october, strangely enough he is often poorly and has small operations 3 monthly but in eygpt he was well and had a great appetite, in england he eats like a bird. i await to see if he talks more but his behaviour is odd and you cannot change his thinking about saleemland. just wanted to share this with you, the more mohamed the tour guide who taught history at cairo university-spoke with saleem the more he talked about things that a child could not make up and thats why he told us of dorothy and i shall now seek more info of her as i am a believer in re in carnation and the afterlife, thank you for your super site it is so informative, regards k.

  2. Hi Karen
    Many thanks for sharing your experiences of visiting Egypt with your son. I could see many parallels with Dorothy Eady’s story in what you say. It would be worth reading Jonathan Cott’s book, ‘The Search of Omm Sety’ – my copy was published by Arrow, 1989, but I know it has been reprinted more recently. A library would probably have a copy. It goes into a lot of detail about her early years and her knowledge of Egypt and is a very interesting read. There are many things in this world we dismiss too easily.
    I do hope your son’s health improves and that you are able to visit Egypt with him again soon. Saleemland is a lovely name for Egypt.

    Best Regards
    Su

  3. Karen,

    If if remember correctly, Akhenaton was a very great and unusual pharoah/king. How exciting if your son were a reincarnation of him or of someone who lived during that reign. I do hope that his physical problems will be alleviated. All the best, Anne

  4. Su,

    I was just looking over your post and thought I would also suggest the new book by Hanny El Zeini and Catherine Dees, it’s called “Omm Sety’s Egypt” you can find it on Amazon.com. It has additional info that was not included in the book that Hanny and Jonathan Cott wrote. I recently
    edited an as yet unpublished book that Hanny wrote called “Secret Egypt” and Hanny and I are in the process of writing a book concerning the Osirion. I recently brought a copy of the book that Nicole spoke of above to Hanny and he was very pleased to get it. Nicole Hansen did a wonderful job on “Omm Sety’s Living Egypt” and I know Omm Sety would have been/is greatful to Nicole for getting it out there.
    My Best
    Melissa

  5. Hi Melissa

    Thank you for your book suggestions. I’ve seen “Omm Sety’s Egypt” and would recommend it to averyone. I am looking forward to the publication of Hany el-Zeini’s “Secret Egypt” as well as your collaboration about the Osirion. This sounds very exciting and I wish you both every success.

    Many thanks again for this information.

    Best regards
    Su

  6. Hi Su –

    I met Omm Sety at the Temples of Sety I and Rameses II at Abydos in December of 1972 when I was touring Egypt. I have my own photos of her. She was a dear old gal – very bright, funny, and old. I read “The Search for Omm Sety” several years ago and just picked it up a few days ago for another read. I am making notes as I read this time to look up on the Net, which is how I came across your website. I have been an amateur Egyptologist since 1965.

    I’m glad people like yourselves know of this little lady. Her memory shouldn’t die. I’m wondering if I can find a website showing her grave site at Abydos.

    Regards,

    Geri

  7. Dear Geri

    Many thanks for your comment. How fortunate you are to have met Omm Sety, a lady I knew about from a friend who used to visit her there, long before I first went to Abydos. She must have been a wonderful and special character. I did visit her grave on one occasion and there is an account and a photograph of the visit on another post on this blog here:
    http://egyptsites.wordpress.com/2008/02/23/desert-sites/

    Best regards
    Su

  8. Dear Su –

    I have begun reading your journal – it is very much like the one I wrote when I went to Egypt, only mine is much shorter. You are as much a romantic about Ancient Egypt as am I. This is the epilogue to mine:

    “In retrospect, as I leaf through my many photographs and re-read this somewhat romantic account of my excursion through Egypt, I can still feel the heat of the sun burning through my back and shoulders in the Valley of the Kings, and the cold dampness penetrating the soles of my shoes as I stand on the stone pavement in a dark, dank Ptolemaic temple. And the words… ‘unbelievable’…’unforgettable’…come to mind.

    A consummation.”

    Unfortunately I’ve just been there once, and that was before all the grave findings at Giza and Saqqara. Breaks my heart! I never returned – I think in the back of my mind I was afraid it would take away the magic of my first visit. Anyway I have mapped out most of the new findings since my visit. Thank you Internet!! Don’t you love Kent Weeks website on the Valley?

    Have you had your journal published (so I don’t have to download the whole thing!!)? The first chapter has come out in 19 pages!!!

    I am so glad I found your journal. I have visited the http://www.egyptsites.co.uk many many times in the past few years but never found your “jewel” before.

    Thanks for your reply.

    Geri

  9. A really beautiful epilogue Geri in which you put into words the exact feelings I had after returning from my first visit to Eygpt. Like you, I thought I would never be able to recapture that feeling again, but I took the risk and never looked back. After twenty-something trips I still feel the same way about Egypt, though I have seen many changes in twelve years. There are always new discoveries to make and the familiar ancient sites now feel like old friends.

    I started to write up the journal in book form a few years ago, but most of it is too repetetive to be published, so when I discovered blogs I thought it would be nice to share my adventures with others in this medium.

    Thank you for your very kind words and I hope you continue to enjoy reading it.

    Regards, Su.

  10. Dear Su,

    I will be returning to Egypt in 2011, could you please supply me the directions to Omm Sety’s grave, and who will be the best guide to hire.

    Thank-you

    • Hi Toni

      Omm Sety’s grave is on the edge of the Muslim cemetery in the desert behind the enclosure of Shunet el-Zebib, but it is not always possible to get permission to visit the desert sites at Abydos. The best place to ask is in the cafeteria in front of the Sety Temple – someone there will know whether you can get there and they will be able to put you in touch with a guide.

      Best of luck
      Su

  11. I have read about Omm Sety and am fascinated by her. I have been to Cairo and Alexandria, but hope to return to Egypt and visit Sety’s tomb. Hopefully, Omm Sety’s grave, as well. Thank you for your recollections.

  12. I have just found out about Omm Sety and I would love to see the documentary about her which I must track down
    What an amazing life she had
    I will read more about her
    regards Helen

  13. Fascinating read. I’m trying to track down a copy of the BBC chronicle programme Omm Sety and her Egypt. Foolishly, my copy was loaned to someone who never returned it… I’d be grateful for a lead

    Many thanks

    Charles

    • Hi Charles
      Thanks for your coment. I’ve also been trying to track down a copy of that excellent programme for years with no luck. Last time I saw it on TV was in 1995! I hope you have more luck than I have.
      Regards
      Su

  14. Hi Su,
    thank you for all the wonderful information on your site here! So far I have never been to Egypt and cannot afford to go for the next years, but I’m very interested in the life of Omm Sety and have got all the mentioned books from and about her.
    I would be very interested in the BBC TV movie! If there is anywhere on the internet I could get a copy, please let me know.
    Thanks a lot and all the best
    Johanna

  15. I was thrilled to visit Egypt. It was a trip of a lifetime. As I result I became interested in Omm Sety. Her book fascinated me as did the documentary about her life.
    Thank you for keeping her image alive.
    Janie

  16. Very interesting to read this blog. I had the fortune to meet Omm Sety when I was in Egypt in 1979. She was sitting in the cafe, all bundled up. I have a photo that I took of her and she has a fly on her nose! I will be traveling to Abydos this winter and I sure would like to see anything of hers, perhaps the tomb that she had built? Does anyone give a tour of that?

  17. Oh I forgot to mention a limmerick that she told us:

    Said Pharaoh, My kilt is too short
    I’ve given the matter much thought
    When I go out by day
    And the wind blows my way
    My subjects see more than they ought!

    I’ll NEVER forget that one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

